DE KAMER BE LA CHAMBRE BE

15

18

2

17

19

Brussels-Capital Region

12

16

The Brussels Regional Parliament

>> Elections

The Brussels Regional Parliament is elected every five years. The first direct elections were held on 18 June 1989. The last elections were held on 9 June 2024 at the same time as the elections for the European Parliament and the House of Representatives. Such as for the federal elections there is an electoral threshold of 5% in each constituency and there must be as many women as men on the electoral lists. The age in order to be eligible for election is 18 years.

>> Legislative parliament

The Brussels Regional Parliament is a legislative parliament, which means that it cannot be dissolved before the end of the period that it has been elected for.

>> Composition

The Parliament consists of 89 directly elected members. They are divided into two language groups (in pursuance of the "Lambermont" and "Lombard"⁽¹⁾ agreements of 2001):

- The 17 members elected from the Dutch-speaking lists form the Dutch-speaking language group
- The 72 members elected from the French-speaking lists form the French-speaking language group.

>>> Electoral constituencies

The MPs of the Brussels-Capital Region are directly elected by the citizens of the Brussels Region which consists of 19 municipalities:

- Anderlecht/Anderlecht (1)
- Auderghem/Oudergem (2)
- Berchem-Sainte-Agathe/Sint-Agatha-Berchem (3)
- Bruxelles-ville/Brussel-stad (4)
- Etterbeek/Etterbeek (5)

- Evere/Evere (6)
- Forest/Vorst (7)
- Ganshoren/Ganshoren (8)
- Ixelles/Elsene (9)
- Jette/Jette (10)
- Koekelberg/
 Koekelberg (11)
- Molenbeek-Saint Jean/ Sint-Jans Molenbeek (12)
- Saint-Gilles/Sint-Gillis (13)
- Saint-Josse-Ten-Noode/ Sint-Joost-Ten Node (14)
- Schaerbeek/Schaarbeek (15)
- Uccle/Ukkel (16)
- Watermael-Boitsfort/ Watermaal-Bosvoorde (17)
- Woluwé-Saint-Lambert/ Sint-Lambrechts Woluwe (18)
- Woluwé-Saint-Pierre/Sint-Pieters Woluwe (19)

>> Competences

Legislation

The Parliament issues ordinances. These govern the regional matters of Brussels. They have almost the same legal force as decrees. But there is one important difference.

There is a limited control on ordinances which is not the case for decrees. The ordinary and administrative jurisdictional colleges can, within certain limits, check for example that the ordinances are not contrary to the Constitution or to a special law relating to Brussels.

In addition there is a limited control by the federal authorities in order to preserve the international role and the status of capital city Brussels. The King (the federal government) may cancel the enforcement of ordinances relating to urban planning, regional development, public works or transport. An ordinance is submitted to a cooperation commission consisting of an equal number of federal ministers and members of the government of the Brussels-Capital Region. If no agreement is reached within this commission, the House of Representatives may, as a last resort, invalidate a cancelled ordinance (a majority within the two language groups is required).

¹ Law of 13 July 2001 containing several institutional reforms concerning the local institutions of the Brussels-Capital Region.

The Parliament has assumed the competences of the former Brussels Conurbation. This concerns the collection and processing of refuse, taxis, the fire service, emergency medical assistance, etc.

For these matters the Parliament issues ordinances.

Appointments and political control

The Brussels government is appointed by the Parliament. At any time the Parliament may pass a motion of disapproval in the government or one or more ministers or secretaries of State in order to force them to resign. The Parliament must propose a successor, otherwise the motion is inadmissible (it is thus a motion of constructive disapproval). When a motion is targeted at the government it may only be adopted by a majority of the members within each language group.

Financial control

Each year the Brussels Regional Parliament adopts the regional budget.

The Brussels government

The government issues decrees.

It consists of eight members, including a Minister-President, two French-speaking ministers, two Dutch-speaking ministers and three secretaries of State. At least one secretary of State must belong to the less numerous language group.

Decisions are taken collectively and there must be a consensus.

Community matters

With regard to community matters, the two language groups of the Brussels regional Parliament sit separately. The Dutchspeaking group is called the "Council of the Flemish Community Committee". The French language group is called the "Council of the French Community Committee".

The members of the government also meet separately, according to the language group that they form part of. The Dutchspeaking members of the Brussels government form the College of the Flemish Community Committee. The French-speaking members of the Brussels government form the College of the French Community Committee.

The community committees have community competences (culture, education, person-related matters, etc) with respect to French-speaking and Dutch-speaking citizens of Brussels. They do so through Parliament ordinances and College decrees.

The French Community also delegates certain competences (tourism, health policy, etc) concerning Brussels French-speaking inhabitants to the French Community Committee. These competences are exercised by decree.

There is also a Joint Community Committee. It consists of the two language groups of the Brussels Parliament. It is thus called the "joint Assembly" and exercises authority over the institutions that do not exclusively belong to one or another community (the "bicommunity institutions" such as CPAS for example). It also has authority towards people in health policy, over social policy, towards disabled people and senior citizens, etc. The joint Assembly issues ordinances (regulations when it acts as the organising power). It decides by a majority of votes in each language group.

Government : <u>http://be.brussels</u>

Parliament: www.parlement.brussels

French community Committee: <u>www.ccf.brussels</u>

Flemish community Committee: <u>www.vgc.be</u>